Contact Us Join Login

Food Safety

Safe Food Australia

To access a Guide to the Food Safety Standards, please click here.

Please click here to access the Safe Food Australia website.

The SA Health website is also a useful resource in respect of food safety, including for link below which will provide more information on Food Handlers and Food Safety Supervisors – click here.

Food Safety Package

The Hospitality Industry Work Health and Safety Association of SA have developed a Food Safety Package (attached below), to provide members with an understanding of their obligations in relation to food safety (including in relation to the amendments to Standard 3.2.2A of the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code). The Package contains easy to use template policies and forms.

Food Safety Standard 3.2.2A - Food Safety Management Tools

Food Safety Standard 3.2.2A – Food Safety Management Tools (New Standard) took effect as of December 2022. The New Standard introduces additional requirements for all food service, catering, and retail businesses that handle unpackaged, potentially hazardous, ready-to-eat foods.

The AHA|SA has developed a Frequently Asked Questions document on the new Standard. The FAQ can be downloaded here.

Under the New Standard, impacted businesses must implement two or three food safety management tools depending on category of the business. These tools should have been implemented in full by 8 December 2023.

The food safety management tools include:

  1. food handler training;
  2. implementation of a food safety supervisor; and
  3. substantiation (evidence) of key food handling activities (Food Safety Management Tools). F

Further details are provided below on what is required in respect of each Food Safety Management Tool.

Impacted businesses are categorised as follows:

  • Category 1 businesses are caterers or food service establishments that make and serve potentially hazardous, ready-to-eat foods, such as restaurants, bakeries, fast-food outlets, mobile food vendors, bakeries, child care centres and school canteens. Hotels fall within Category 1.

Category 1 businesses must implement all three Food Safety Management Tools.

  • Category 2 businesses are businesses that sell potentially hazardous ready-to-eat food that has arrived unpackaged or been unpackaged by the business but is not made by the business, such as delis, markets stalls, supermarkets, service stations, seafood retailers and butchers.

Category 2 businesses need only implement two Food Safety Management Tools.

Food Handler Training

All staff that are involved in the handling of food that is not pre-packaged must complete Food Handler Training or be able to show they have adequate skills in food safety and hygiene. The training obligations apply to employees employed in a Category 1 and Category 2 business.

Food handlers are not required to have formal training qualifications in food safety, but they must have and be able to demonstrate their food safety and hygiene skills and knowledge. Standard 3.2.2A – 10 requires that each food handler who handles unpackaged, potentially hazardous food that is ready to eat, has, before engaging in that activity:

  • completed a food safety training course; or
  • adequate skills and knowledge in food safety and hygiene to do that activity correctly and keep food safe.

There is a FREE online course called DoFoodSafely, which will give staff the required skills. Click here to access this online course.

For further information on Food Handler Training click here.

Food Safety Supervisor

Category 1 and Category 2 businesses must appoint a Food Safety Supervisor (FSS) who is to manage and give direction on the safe handling of food.

The FSS must hold a certificate (or Statement of Attainment) issued by a Registered Training Organisation (RTO) showing that they have completed at least one of the following skill sets within the last five years.

  • SITSS00069 - Food Safety Supervision Skill Set - which comprises the following two units (SITXFSA005 - Use hygienic practices for food safety & SITXFSA006 - Participate in safe food handling practices). Note – these units are contained within a range of VET Certificate programs such as Certificate III in Commercial Cookery, Certificate II, III & IV in Hospitality.
  • SIRRFSA001 – Handle food safely in a retail environment unit
  • HLTSS00061 – Food safety supervision skill set – for community services and health industries (unites HLTFSE001, HLTFSE005 and HLTFSE007)

Adelaide Institute of Hospitality (a Corporate Partner of the AHA|SA) is an RTO and offer the Food Safety Supervisor Skill Set training. Please find a flyer on this training course and details of how to book in attached below.

Substantiation (Evidence) of Key Food Safety Controls

Category 1 businesses only must comply with this requirement.

Businesses need to show the food regulator (i.e Local Council) that key food safety controls or “prescribed provisions” are being met. The prescribed provisions are: 

  • temperature control and food processing controls for high risk foods; and
  • cleaning and sanitising. Evidence of Food Safety Control compliance can include:
  • written or electronic records;
  • notes made on an invoice;
  • photographs; and/or
  • a written standard operating procedures (SOPs).

Alternatively, businesses can physically demonstrate to the food regulator how the prescribed provisions are being met, or by using a combination of methods.

Records (if made) must be kept for 3 months and should include the date and time the record was made.

Template documents have been developed to assist Members in terms of evidence of these food safety controls. These documents are available below.

For further information visit the Food Standards website by clicking here.