Contact Us Join Login

Bridgeport Hotel and Marion Hotel named joint Hotels of the Year 2021

Two hotels have been crowned the best in South Australia at the 2021 Hotel Industry Awards for Excellence, held at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre tonight. Bridgeport Hotel in Murray Bridge and the Marion Hotel have both been named SA’s Best Overall Hotel in 2021.

Passion and perseverance has transformed the Bridgeport Hotel into a true masterpiece. After 25 years of ownership and 11 years of planning and development, owners Graham Hobbs and Ian Tregoning have realised their vision with the opening of the stunning re-developed 100-room Bridgeport Hotel in Murray Bridge.

Proudly overlooking the famous Murray River, the $45 million re-development has retained its local identity, whilst completing an extensive new development. The Bridgeport offers everything from stylish accommodation, quality dining, a bustling sports bar, and extensive meeting and events facilities. It also introduced a ground-breaking jobs program for the long-term unemployed in the region.

Also winning the top prize tonight for the second year in a row was the Marion Hotel. The $20 million transformation of the Hurley Hotel Group pub was completed in September 2019, and the hotel continues to set incredible standards in food and beverage, functions, accommodation, retail and gaming.

Some of Adelaide’s newest accommodation hotels have made their mark in this year’s awards. The Hotel Indigo Adelaide Markets has won Best Boutique/Superior Hotel Accommodation for its vibrant 145-room hotel near the Adelaide Central Markets.

Eos by SkyCity has won Best Deluxe Hotel Accommodation, providing guests with a true luxury experience, and an opportunity to experience modern hospitality at its finest.

Oval Hotel has also taken home a prize, winning the Best Restaurant – Accommodation Division for the hotel’s flagship dining experience, Five Regions Restaurant. Five Regions offers a new take on seasonal degustation dining, with its “wine comes first” approach to menu design, showcasing the very best wines of SA’s world-renowned wine regions. 

2KW has won Best Restaurant – General Division for the second year in a row, and Best Outdoor and Non-enclosed Facility. Once again setting the highest standards in food and beverage and menu design, Executive Chef Trent Lymn has been at the helm for 4 years. His passion for SA produce is evident with every menu he creates. The judges also loved the outdoor rooftop space, with its year round adaptability – a perfect rooftop oasis with exceptional service and attention to detail.

Many country hotels were recognised, including the Dalrymple Hotel in Stansbury, which won the award for Best Bistro Casual Dining – Country. The judges were impressed by Head Chef William Glazbrook’s ability to merge the traditional pub food expected by so many in the country, with more refined dishes with a modern Australian theme and a touch of Asian flavours.

The newly renovated Peninsula Hotel in Taperoo has won the Award for Best Marketing & Promotion – General Division and has also received two judges’ commendations for Bistro Casual Dining – Outer Metropolitan, and Redeveloped Hotel – Metropolitan.

“Congratulations to all the outstanding winners of the 2021 Hotel Awards for Excellence,” said AHA|SA General Manager Ian Horne.

“The incredible standards in food and beverage, service and experience set by all of our winners this year is a testament to the absolute resilience and innovation of the hotel industry.

“Even through the continuing challenging times, the hotel industry and our people continue to lift, innovate and set high standards across all facets of our venues.

As we celebrate 150 years of the Australian Hotels Association (SA) branch, we are proud to be representing this incredible industry, and in turn, the 26,000 people it employs.”

The 2021 AHA|SA Hotel Industry Awards for Excellence was held on Tuesday 26 October at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre. Over 750 people attended this premier event with entertainment provided by Australian singer-songerwriter Sarah McLeod and Adelaide band, The Cast and hosted by Will Goodings.


2021 Full List of Winners




Judges Commendation

Draught Beer Quality

Malt Shovel Taphouse


Recognition of Adaption & Innovation

Crown Inn Kingston – Joint Winners


Recognition of Adaption & Innovation

Gumeracha Hotel – Joint Winners


Recognition of Adaption & Innovation

The Playford – Joint Winners


Mid-Range Hotel Accommodation

Atura Adelaide Airport


Boutique/Superior Hotel Accommodation

Hotel Indigo Adelaide Markets


Deluxe Hotel Accommodation

Eos by SkyCity


Bistro Casual Dining – Country

Dalrymple Hotel, Stansbury

Stockwell Hotel

Bistro Casual Dining – Inner Metropolitan

Maylands Hotel

Lion Hotel

Bistro Casual Dining – Outer Metropolitan

Stirling Hotel

Peninsula Hotel

Restaurant – Accommodation Division

Oval Hotel - Five Regions Restaurant


Restaurant – General Division Metropolitan



Restaurant – General Division Country

Watervale Hotel


Bar Presentation & Experience – Country

McLaren Vale Hotel


Bar Presentation & Experience – Metropolitan

Mayfair Hotel - Hennessy Bar

Mr Jones - The Gully Public House & Garden

Outdoor or Non-Enclosed Facility



Sporting Entertainment Venue

Warradale Hotel


Community Service & Support

Berri Hotel


Marketing & Promotion – General Division

Peninsula Hotel


Tourism & Regional Promotion

Port Lincoln Hotel


Environmental & Energy Efficiency Practice

Watervale Hotel

 Uraidla Hotel

Gaming Venue – Country

Tanunda Hotel


Gaming Venue – Metropolitan

Marion Hotel

 The Grove

TAB Licensed Venue

Morphett Arms Hotel


Meeting & Events Venue –Accommodation Division

Mount Lofty House


Meeting & Events Venue – General Division

Marion Hotel

 Lion Hotel

Retail Outlet

Arkaba Hotel - Joint Winner


Retail Outlet

East End Cellars - Joint Winner


Redeveloped Hotel – Country

Bridgeport Hotel

 Stockwell Hotel

Redeveloped Hotel – Metropolitan

Uraidla Hotel

Peninsula Hotel

Staff Development & Training

RD Jones Group

Bridgeport Hotel

Chef of the Year

Anthony Giardina - Arkaba Hotel


Employee Excellence in Service - Accommodation Division

Chris Speck - Mount Lofty House


Employee Excellence in Service - General Division

Heath Johansen - Uraidla Hotel


Hotel Industry Rising Star

Holley Smith - Port Lincoln Hotel


Best Overall Hotel

Bridgeport Hotel – Joint Winner


Best Overall Hotel

Marion Hotel – Joint Winner




Read previous article
Read next article